Allergens in Synofit
When you are intolerant of certain substances, you need to pay close attention to the presence of ingredients in food and other products that you come in contact with. An allergic reaction is not only annoying, in some cases, it can be dangerous.
Allergens in food
There are 14 allergens that need to be mentioned on food labels label when these are present: fish, gluten, soy, egg, milk, shellfish, nuts, peanuts, sesame seeds, Lupin, mustard, sulfur dioxide and molluscs.
Synofit Premium contains Green Lipped Mussel, which belongs to the family of molluscs. This is clearly mentioned on the label.
When you have an allergy to mussels (or molluscs in general), then we advise you to read the blog about allergies for mussels. If you have experienced a severe allergic reaction, such as unconsciousness or shock, after the consumption of certain shellfish or molluscs, we advise not to use Synofit.
Are there any fish-derived ingredients in the capsules?
When you study the packages that contain any type of Synofit Premium Capsules, you will notice that ‘fish’ is listed as one of the ingredients. The outer part of the capsules contains gelatin, which is derived from fish. Allergies to fish gelatin do exist, but are extremely rare. Nevertheless, we thought it best to include it on our packaging.
Synofit can be used by people who have a gluten or lactose intolerance. In addition, Synofit products are low in sugar.
Is Synofit completely free from gluten and lactose?
Yes, Synofit is gluten and lactose-free!
When neither gluten nor lactose is used as an ingredient, you do not have to list these as ingredients on the label. However, this does not guarantee that there are no traces of these compounds. There could still be cross contamination in the production line when other products are produced in the same location.
This does not happen in the factory where Synofit is produced! No other production involving gluten and lactose takes place on our production lines. In addition, we always do controls in our laboratories for the presence of allergens in Synofit products.
Gluten in Synofit
These controls show that all Synofit products, both liquids and capsules, contain less gluten than the detection limit (5 milligrams gluten per kilogram). This means that we are able to state that Synofit products are gluten-free.
Lactose in Synofit
Synofit Premium Liquid contains less than the measurable detection limit (20 milligrams per kilogram). Synofit Premium Capsules contain 72 milligrams lactose per kilogram. Most people who have a lactose intolerance can tolerate lactose up to an amount of 12,000 milligrams. A Synofit Premium Capsule contains 100,000 times less lactose than 12,000 milligrams.
People who suffer from the much rarer galactosemia can only tolerate 25 milligrams lactose per 100 kcal of food.
- Synofit Premium Liquid contains less than 5.1 milligrams of lactose per Kcal.
- Synofit Premium Capsules 1.4 milligrams per Kcal. Based on this, no problems should be expected. (see blog).
In conclusion, both people with lactose intolerance and galactosemia can use all Synofit products safely. This also falls within the parameters to list our products as lactose-free.
Allergens in Synofit Joint Care Gel
Synofit Joint Care Gel is for external use only. Therefore most people with an allergy to molluscs can use the gel without problems, despite the fact that it contains Green Lipped Mussels. We do advise, when you have an allergy, to avoid all contact with your eyes or any wounds that you might have.
In some rare cases, additives in the gel can lead to skin allergies. These additives are mentioned on the label. Please consult the label before you use the gel in case you have a known allergy to any commonly used additives in gels, creams or ointments.
The EFSA has adopted < 20 ppm gluten as one of the criteria for a food to be labelled gluten-free. Research from the Center for Celiac Research has shown that 10 milligrams of gluten are safe to consume for most people with Celiac disease.